Calendar

 

Click the blue "Alerts" button below to sign up for notification of any or all events. For a downloadable version of the 2017-18 school year calendar, click here (pdf)

Calendar Navigation
<  Year of 2017  >
  • Monday, Jan 2
    • New Year's holiday observed
    Tuesday, Jan 3
    • Classes resume after winter break (Tuesday)
    Friday, Jan 6
    • Blue Green Winter Games
    Monday, Jan 9
    • Sixth Grade: Project Backpack this week
    • Lower & Middle School Assemblies 8:30 AM
    Thursday, Jan 12
    • Seventh Grade hut trip pack check, group 1
    • Fourth Grade parent meeting 2:30 PMDining Hall
    Friday, Jan 13
    • Ski day: Sixth & Eighth on Ajax & BMilk 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    • Seventh Grade ski tour practice at West Buttermilk 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Jan 16
    • Day honoring MLK, school in session
    • Fourth Grade: Project Backpack this week
    Tuesday, Jan 17
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 1 departs 7:15 am
    Wednesday, Jan 18
    • Board of Trustees meeting
    • Fourth Grade practice ski tour morning
    Friday, Jan 20
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 1 returns
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Saturday, Jan 21
    • Important talk for parents: marijuana & the teen brain 5:00 PMAspen District TheatreClick for more
    Monday, Jan 23
    • Fifth Grade: Project Backpack this week
    • Seventh Grade hut trip group 2 pack check
    • Buddy Grades 8:30 AM
    Tuesday, Jan 24
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 2 departs 7:15 am
    Friday, Jan 27
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 2 returns
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Jan 30
    • Third Grade: Project Backpack this week
    • Geography Bee 1:30 PM to 2:15 PMEdlis-Neeson Hall
    Tuesday, Jan 31
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring departs
  • Thursday, Feb 2
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring returns
    Friday, Feb 3
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Feb 6
    • PreK Three & Second Grade: Project Backpack week
    Wednesday, Feb 8
    • Ski day: PreKindergarten 8:00 AM to 11:00 AMPowder Pandas
    • All-School Assembly: Altius Quartet 8:30 AMEdlis-Neeson Hall
    Thursday, Feb 9
    • Ski Day: Second-Fifth Grades 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Friday, Feb 10
    • Mom's Ski Day: Aspen Mountain
    • Pack check: Fifth Grade ski tour trip, Brett's class 8:00 AM
    • Lower School Assembly: Jump Rope For Heart 8:30 AM
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Feb 13
    • Buddy Grade Day
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Brett's class departs
    • First Grade: Project Backpack week
    Tuesday, Feb 14
    • Pack check: Fifth Grade ski tour, Adam's class
    • Visiting Poet on campus: Fifth-Eighth Grade workshops
    • Ski Day: Kinder & First 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Wednesday, Feb 15
    • Board of Trustees meeting
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Adam's class departs
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Brett's class returns
    • Ski day: PreKindergarten 8:00 AM to 11:00 AMPowder Pandas
    • Poetry Performance from Aspen Words Poetry Project: Assembly 1:15 PMEdlis-Neeson Hall
    Thursday, Feb 16
    • Ski Day: Second-Fifth Grades 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Friday, Feb 17
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Adam's class returns
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Feb 20
    • Kindergarten: Project Backpack week
    • President's Day, no school
    Tuesday, Feb 21
    • Ski Day: Kinder & First 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Wednesday, Feb 22
    • Ski day: PreKindergarten 8:00 AM to 11:00 AMPowder Pandas
    Thursday, Feb 23
    • Ski Day: Second-Fifth Grades 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Friday, Feb 24
    • Lower School Assembly 8:30 AMPaterson Commons
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Feb 27
    • PreK Four & Eighth Grade: Project Backpack week
    Tuesday, Feb 28
    • Ski Day: Kinder & First 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
  • Wednesday, Mar 1
    • Empty Bowls dinner Buttermilk
    • Ski day: PreKindergarten 8:00 AM to 11:00 AMPowder Pandas
    • Ancient Egypt presentation: MF/Anson Fourth Grade 10:00 AMLower School Commons
    Thursday, Mar 2
    • Ancient Egypt presentation: Clark's Fourth Grade CHANGED: This event has been changed. 10:00 AMLower School Commons
    • Ski Day: Second-Fifth Grades 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Friday, Mar 3
    • Lower School Assembly 8:30 AMPaterson Commons
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Mar 6
    • Seventh Grade: : Project Backpack week
    • All School Assembly: Shining Stars 2:15 PM to 3:10 PM
    Tuesday, Mar 7
    • Ski Day: Kinder & First 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Wednesday, Mar 8
    Thursday, Mar 9
    • Ski Day: Second-Fifth Grades 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Friday, Mar 10
    • Ski day: PreKindergarten (moved from 3/15)
    • Ski day: Middle School 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
    Monday, Mar 13
    • Sixth Grade: Project Backpack week
    • Buddy Grades 8:30 AM
    Wednesday, Mar 15
    • Ski day: PreKindergarten CHANGED: Due to World Cup Finals, PreK's final ski day has been moved to 3/10
    Thursday, Mar 16
    • Second Grade Economics Fair 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMLower School Commons
    Friday, Mar 17
    Monday, Mar 20
    • Spring break, no school, week 1 of 2
    Monday, Mar 27
    • Spring break, week 2 of 2
  • Monday, Apr 3
    • Classes resume after spring break
    • Fifth Grade: Project Backpack week
    • School resumes after spring break
    • Lower & Middle School Assemblies 8:30 AM
    Wednesday, Apr 5
    • Faculty Meeting 2:30 PMMiddle School Atrium
    Friday, Apr 7
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing returns
    • Aspen Film Shortsfest filmmaker presentation 8:00 AM to 9:00 AMEdlis-Neeson HallFor Fourth & Fifth Grades
    Saturday, Apr 8
    • Blue Green Night: ACDS benefit party
    Monday, Apr 10
    • Fourth Grade: Project Backpack week
    • All School Assembly: Bridging Bionics 8:30 AMEdlis-Neeson Hall
    Wednesday, Apr 12
    • Peru trip World Leadership School Parent Meeting 1:00 PMMiddle School Atrium
    Friday, Apr 14
    • First Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering returns
    Monday, Apr 17
    • Third Grade: Project Backpack week
    • All-School Assembly: Aspen Dance Connection 8:30 AMEdlis-Neeson Hall
    • World of Big & Small: Sixth Grade Math presentations 2:40 PM
    Wednesday, Apr 19
    • Board of Trustees meeting
    • Second Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering returns
    Thursday, Apr 20
    • Lead Guitar Showcase: Fourth & Fifth Graders 6:20 PMHarris Hall
    Friday, Apr 21
    • Earth Day pickup
    • Guitar performance by Fourth & Fifth Graders 8:15 AMEdlis Neeson Hall
    Monday, Apr 24
    • Play week, ERB testing in the mornings for Third-Seventh Graders
    Thursday, Apr 27
    • Poem In Your Pocket Day
    Friday, Apr 28
    • All-School Play 6:00 PMWheeler Opera House
    Saturday, Apr 29
    • All-School Play 5:00 PMWheeler Opera House
  • Monday, May 1
    • Grandparents & Special Friends Day
    • PreK Three & Second Grade: Project Backpack week
    • Sixth Grade Outdoor Ed, canoe/kayak departs from Aspen Chapel Trip info here
    • Second Grade: Endangered Species presentations 2:30 PMLower School Commons
    Tuesday, May 2
    • Third Grade: Space presentations 2:30 PMLower School CommonsBoth Third Grade classes present their multi-media research projects about space. 
    Friday, May 5
    • Sixth Grade Outdoor Ed, canoe/kayak returns
    • Movie Night: Peru Fundraiser 3:15 PMLower School Commons right after school
    Monday, May 8
    • First Grade: Project Backpack week
    • Middle School Assembly & Buddy Grades 8:30 AM
    Tuesday, May 9
    • Fifth Grade service project with Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers
    Wednesday, May 10
    • Fifth Grade Profiles in History 8:15 AMLower School Commons
    Thursday, May 11
    • Independent school colleagues on campus: mathematics visit
    • Kindergarten Outdoor Ed, bouldering departs
    • Speaker Series event: How Music Can Change Your Brain 5:30 PMEdlis Neeson HallMore info
    Friday, May 12
    • Independent school colleagues on campus: mathematics visit
    • Kindergarten Outdoor Ed, bouldering returns
    Monday, May 15
    • Kindergarten: Project Backpack week
    • Move-Up Coffees: PreK going into K 8:15 AM to 9:00 AMDining Hall
    • Buddy Grades 8:30 AM
    • Fourth Grade Skype chat: Chris Grabenstein, author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library 10:15 AM
    Tuesday, May 16
    • Move-Up Coffee: Second going into Third 8:15 AM to 9:00 AMDining Hall
    Wednesday, May 17
    • Board of Trustees meeting
    • Eighth Grade exam - afternoon
    • Seventh Grade parent preview of Eighth meeting 1:00 PM to 2:00 PMMiddle School Atrium
    Thursday, May 18
    • Eighth Grade exams morning and afternoon
    Friday, May 19
    • Eighth Grade exams morning and afternoon
    • Move-Up Coffee: K into First Grade 8:15 AM to 9:00 AMDining Hall
    Saturday, May 20
    Monday, May 22
    • Move-Up Coffee: Fourth going into Fifth 9:00 AMDining Hall
    • Stand Up Comedy show 5:00 PMLower School Commonsafter-school program showcase
    Tuesday, May 23
    • Parent Coffee: Third going Fourth 2:15 PM to 3:00 PMDining Hall
    Wednesday, May 24
    • Country Fair in Second Grade 8:30 AMclassroom
    • Move-Up Coffee: First Grade into Second Grade 1:15 PM to 2:00 PMDining Hall
    Thursday, May 25
    • Bike/Walk to School Day
    • Move-Up Coffee: PreK Three going into PreK Four 8:15 AMDining Hall
    • Day of the Living Dead: Third Grade history presentations 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM
    • Move Up: Fifth into Sixth 2:20 PM
    Friday, May 26
    • Poetry Slam: Kindergarten-Second Grade 8:30 AM to 9:00 AMLower School Commons
    Saturday, May 27
    • Eighth Grade Outdoor Ed river trip returns
    Monday, May 29
    • Memorial Day, no school
    Tuesday, May 30
    • Fourth Grade: Author's Chair + Animal Presentations, Mary Frances's class 8:15 AM to 9:30 AMLower School Commons
    • Eighth Grade Student-Led Conferences 12:00 PM to 3:00 PMMiddle School classrooms
    Wednesday, May 31
    • Buddy Family meeting 8:15 AMDining Hall
    • Fourth Grade: Author's Chair + Animal Presentations, Clark's class 8:15 AM to 9:30 AMLower School Commons
    • Blue Green Championship Games 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
  • Thursday, Jun 1
    Friday, Jun 2
    • Graduation 9:30 am 9:30 AM to 10:30 AMon campus
    Sunday, Jun 4
    • World Leadership School in Peru For rising Eighth Graders, returning June 18
    Monday, Jun 5
    • Move-out & teacher meetings
  • Monday, Aug 28
    • Teacher orientation begins
    Thursday, Aug 31
    • New Family Dinner 5:30 PMon campus
  • Friday, Sep 1
    • New Family Orientation & Eighth Grade Leadership Workshop
    Tuesday, Sep 5
    • First day of school
    • Half day for PreK & Kindergarten pickup at 11 am
    Wednesday, Sep 6
    • Half day for PreK & Kindergarten pickup at 11 am
    • Middle School Outdoor Ed Sixth, Seventh, Eighth Grades, returning Friday, September 8 at 3
    Thursday, Sep 7
    • Third Grade field trip: Smuggler Mine 1:30 PM
    Wednesday, Sep 13
    • Dining Hall training for lunch volunteers 8:15 AM
    • Parent Night for Lower School 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM
    Thursday, Sep 14
    • School pictures: Sixth, Seventh, Eighth Graders
    • Third Grade history trip to Leadville returning Friday, September 15 at 3
    Friday, Sep 15
    • Kindergarten Outdoor Ed day one day
    Saturday, Sep 16
    • Playdate by the Ponds 10:00 AM to 1:00 PMon campusfree day of family fun, open to the whole Roaring Fork Valley community. Face painting, canoe rides, kids' music and yoga, nature hikes, campus tours, and more. Lunch available!
    Monday, Sep 18
    • Eighth Grade parent potluck
    • First Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering returning Tuesday, September 19 at NOON
    Tuesday, Sep 19
    • School pictures: Third, Fourth, Fifth Graders
    • Parent Night for Middle School 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM
    Wednesday, Sep 20
    • Blue Green Fall Games
    • Jewish holidays, homework & events policy in effect evenings of 9/20-22
    Thursday, Sep 21
    • School pictures: Kindergarten, First, Second Graders
    Friday, Sep 22
    • Third Grade field trip: Ashcroft mining tour 1:15 PM
    Monday, Sep 25
    • Second Grade Outdoor Ed, peak climb returning Tuesday at NOON
    • Assembly: Fourth-Eighth Grades 8:15 AM to 9:00 AMEdlis-NeesonDown the Dirt Road Blues: performance from Spencer Bohren, storyteller, educator
    • Assembly: PreK-Third 9:30 AM to 10:00 AMLower School CommonsPerformance from musician and storyteller Spencer Bohren
    Wednesday, Sep 27
    • School pictures: class photos
    • Mindfulness meeting for parent volunteers 8:15 AMRobin's Nest
    Thursday, Sep 28
    Friday, Sep 29
    • Jewish holidays, homework & events policy in effect evenings of 9/29-30
    • Parent coffee: ABCs of ACDS Dining Hall
  • Sunday, Oct 1
    • Eighth Grade Washington, DC trip returning Friday, October 6
    Monday, Oct 2
    Thursday, Oct 5
    • First Grade parent potluck
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing returning Friday, October 6 at 3
    Saturday, Oct 7
    • Boarding School Fair at ACDS
    Tuesday, Oct 10
    • Sixth Grade parent potluck
    Wednesday, Oct 11
    • Fourth Grade parent potluck
    • Third Grade field trip: Holden Marolt Museum 8:30 AM
    Thursday, Oct 12
    • Fifth Grade parent potluck
    Monday, Oct 16
    • Assembly: Logo Ligi Dance Group 8:20 AM to 9:00 AMEdlis-Neeson Hall
    • Fifth Grade mountain biking practice day 9:30 PM to 2:45 PMSnowmass
    Tuesday, Oct 17
    • Fire Department visits with Second & Third Grades 8:30 AM
    Wednesday, Oct 18
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, mountain biking returning Friday, October 20 at 3
    • Third Grade field trip: Wheeler Stallard House 8:30 AM
    Thursday, Oct 19
    • Buddy Grades tree planting: Third & Sixth 12:30 PM to 3:00 PMIndependence Pass
    Monday, Oct 23
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, mountain biking returning Wednesday, October 25 at 3
    Tuesday, Oct 24
    • Aspen High School Showcase 5:00 PM to 7:30 PMHines Seminar Room, Aspen Meadowspresented by Aspen Education Foundation: info here
    Wednesday, Oct 25
    • Kindergarten visits Rock Bottom Ranch 11:00 AM
    Thursday, Oct 26
    • Kids First teacher professional day; no school for PreK
    Friday, Oct 27
    • Fall break, no school
    Monday, Oct 30
    • Scenes from Into the Woods: Fourth & Fifth Grade 1:00 PM to 1:30 PMmusic class
    Tuesday, Oct 31
    • Eighth Grade Environmental Science class to Youth Water Summit 8:00 AM to 12:30 PM
    • All-School Halloween Parade 2:15 PM to 3:00 PMMeeting in the plaza at 2:15 pm, parade to the turf, parents welcome
  • Wednesday, Nov 1
    • Parent-Teacher Conferences day, no school for students
    Thursday, Nov 2
    Friday, Nov 3
    • Seventh Grade parent meeting: Peru plans 2:00 PM to 3:00 PMMiddle School AtriumWith Ross Wehner of World Leadership School
    Tuesday, Nov 7
    • Parent Coffee + Conversation: Mindful Child book chat 8:00 AM to 9:30 AMRobins' Nest
    Wednesday, Nov 8
    • Blue Green Night volunteer meeting 8:00 AMDining Hall
    Thursday, Nov 9
    • Annual Fund Fall Reception
    • Grade Ambassador Meeting 8:00 AMDining Hall
    Monday, Nov 20
    Chance of Snow Chance of Snow
    30° - 30% Precip
    • Thanksgiving break (1 week)
    Monday, Nov 27
    • School resumes after Thanksgiving breakSignup for an alert reminder.
  • Monday, Dec 4
    • Shakespeare: Kindergarten and Clark's Fourth GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 12:00 PMEdlis-Neeson drama hall
    Tuesday, Dec 5
    • Shakespeare: Annie's Fourth GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 10:30 AMEdlis-Neeson drama hall
    • Shakespeare: Brett's Fifth GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 1:00 PMEdlis-Neeson drama hall
    Wednesday, Dec 6
    • Kindergarten Foreign Language FairSignup for an alert reminder. 10:00 AM to 11:15 AMLower School Commons

      Kindergarten French and Spanish students present performances (with treats!) Parents invited.

    Thursday, Dec 7
    • Shakespeare: Third GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 9:30 AMTeague Pavilion music room
    • Shakespeare: Alexandra's Second GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 1:00 PMEdlis-Neeson drama hall
    • Beginning Strings Winter ConcertSignup for an alert reminder. 6:00 PM to 7:00 PMGymnasium
    Friday, Dec 8
    • Shakespeare: Amanda's First GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 12:30 PMTeague Pavilion music room
    • Shakespeare: Cathy's First GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 1:15 PMTeague Pavilion music room
    • Shakespeare: Adam's Fifth GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 2:00 PMEdlis-Neeson drama hall
    Tuesday, Dec 12
    • Shakespeare: Trish's Second GradeSignup for an alert reminder. 1:30 PMEdlis-Neeson drama hall
    Wednesday, Dec 13
    • Kindergarten-Second Grade: Publishing PartySignup for an alert reminder. 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMLower School Commons
    Friday, Dec 15
    • Holiday Sing: annual concertSignup for an alert reminder. 10:30 AM

      students go straight to Harris Hall (not school) at 9 am; doors open for parents & guests at 10:45 am; showtime is 11 am

    Monday, Dec 18
    • Winter break, no schoolSignup for an alert reminder. first week, returning Tuesday, January 2
    Monday, Dec 25
    • Winter break, no schoolSignup for an alert reminder. second week, returning Tuesday, January 2
Aspen Country Day School
85 Country Day Way Aspen, Colorado 81611
Phone: 970.925.1909
Time to consider ACDS

Our PreK to Eighth Grade school in the mountains of Colorado

The Way School Should Be

With a balance of nurture and rigor, children become their best

The Power of Three

Rigorous academics, creative arts, outdoor education

A welcoming community

Our motto, de amicitia: in the spirit of friendship

Out into the wide world

Alums carry the Aardvark spirit far and wide

A culture of generosity

Many ways to help make Country Day's future even brighter

email page print page small type default type large type
powered by finalsite