Calendar

Click the blue "Alerts" button below to sign up for notification of any or all events. For the complete 2018-19 calendar on one sheet, click here (pdf).

Calendar Navigation
<  Year of 2018  >
  • Tuesday - January 2, 2018
    • Classes resume (Tuesday)
    Thursday - January 4, 2018
    • Seventh Grade hut trip skinning practice 12:00 PM to 3:00 PMon mountain
    Friday - January 5, 2018
    • Blue Green Winter Games
    Tuesday - January 9, 2018
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 1 returning Friday, January 12 at 3
    Wednesday - January 10, 2018
    Friday - January 12, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Monday - January 15, 2018
    • MLK Day, all-school day of service, school in session
    Tuesday - January 16, 2018
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 2 returning Friday, January 19 at 3
    Thursday - January 18, 2018
    • PreKindergarten Classroom Visit Day 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM

      RSVP here

    Friday - January 19, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Tuesday - January 23, 2018
    • Open Book Night: "How to Raise an Adult" 6:00 PMBookbinders bookstore, Willits
    Wednesday - January 24, 2018
    • Wednesday Welcome: Open Campus Tour 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMCastle Creek Campus

      come see the ACDS campus & program! RSVP here

    Friday - January 26, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Tuesday - January 30, 2018
    • Fourth Grade hut trip skinning practice 9:00 AM to 1:45 PM
    • Geography Bee 2:15 PM to 3:00 PMEdlis-Neeson Hall

      Everyone invited! For Fourth-Eighth Grade finalists

    Wednesday - January 31, 2018
    • Wednesday Welcome: Open Campus Tour 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMCastle Creek Campus

      come see the ACDS campus & program! RSVP here

  • Friday - February 2, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Monday - February 5, 2018
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Annie's homeroom

      returning Wednesday, February 7 in time for early day pickup at 2 pm

    • Parent Coffee: Smartphones for kids: for better or for worse? 8:00 AM to 9:15 AMDining Hall
    Tuesday - February 6, 2018
    • Aspen Words Poetry Project
    Wednesday - February 7, 2018
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Clark's homeroom

      returning Friday, February 9 at 3

    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • Wednesday Welcome: Open Campus Tour 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMCastle Creek Campus

      come see the ACDS campus & program! RSVP here

    Thursday - February 8, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    Friday - February 9, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    • Fifth Grade field trip: "I am Financial Knowledge 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM
    Monday - February 12, 2018
    • Monday, February 12, 2018 was a snow day.
    Tuesday - February 13, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    • Seventh Grade parent coffee: "Raising Middle Schoolers" 8:00 AM to 9:00 AMDining Hall
    Wednesday - February 14, 2018
    • Fifth Grade hut trip skinning practice
    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • Fourth Grade, Valentine project, senior center 12:15 PM to 1:15 PMlunchtime field trip
    Thursday - February 15, 2018
    • Thursday, February 15, 2018 was a snow day.
    Friday - February 16, 2018
    • 100th day of school celebrations Lower School
    • Applying for Sept 2018? Priority deadline today
    • Sixth Grade day with Challenge Aspen Buttermilk
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Monday - February 19, 2018
    • Presidents Day, no school
    Tuesday - February 20, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    Wednesday - February 21, 2018
    • no PreK skiing
    • Parent meetings for next year's 9th grades at Aspen High & Basalt High 5:30 PM to 7:00 PMAspen High Seminar Room

      http://conta.cc/2GywFr1

    Thursday - February 22, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    • Parent Coffee: Help! Homework! hands off or hover? 8:00 AM to 9:15 AMDining Hall

      Open to all; recommended for First-Second Grade parents

    Friday - February 23, 2018
    • Geology field trip: Fourth Grade
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    • Kindergarten Classroom Visit Day 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM

      For families interested in Kindergarten for fall 2018. Sign up here

    Tuesday - February 27, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    • Parent Coffee: The Single Most Important Thing: reading aloud 8:00 AM to 9:15 AM

      open to all; recommended for PreK-Kindergarten parents.

    Wednesday - February 28, 2018
    • Fifth Grade skinning practice
    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday - March 1, 2018
    • Eighth Graders: AHS registration

      http://conta.cc/2GgCfOx

    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    Friday - March 2, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    • Sixth Grade Parent Coffee: "Middle School - how's it going?" 8:00 AM to 9:00 AMDining Hall

      For Sixth Grade parents, checking in on the transition to Middle School with Head of Middle School Brenda Stockdale

    Monday - March 5, 2018
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Adam's homeroom

      returning Wednesday, March 7 at 2

    Tuesday - March 6, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    Wednesday - March 7, 2018
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Brett's homeroom returning Friday, March 9 at 3
    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • Fourth Grade presentations on Ancient Egypt: Annie's class 10:00 AM to 11:00 AMLower School Commons
    Thursday - March 8, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    • Fourth Grade presentations on Ancient Egypt: Clark's class 10:00 AM to 11:00 AMLower School Commons
    Friday - March 9, 2018
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Wednesday - March 14, 2018
    • Parent-Teacher Conferences all day, no school for students
    Thursday - March 15, 2018
    • First Grade Animal Research Projects 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMLower School Commons
    • Second Grade Economics Fair 2:15 PM to 3:00 PMLower School Commons
    Friday - March 16, 2018
    • All-School Ski Afternoon
    Monday - March 19, 2018
    • Spring break, week 1 of 2
    Monday - March 26, 2018
    • Spring break, week 2 of 2
  • Monday - April 2, 2018
    • Classes resume after spring break
    Wednesday - April 4, 2018
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing returning Friday, April 6 at 3
    Saturday - April 7, 2018
    Monday - April 9, 2018
    • World of Big & Small Math Projects presentation 2:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Tuesday - April 10, 2018
    • All-School Play tickets go on sale at the Wheeler
    Wednesday - April 11, 2018
    • Second Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering returning Friday, April 13 at 3
    Thursday - April 12, 2018
    • Drop Everything And Read Day

      national event in honor of author Beverly Cleary's birthday

    Wednesday - April 18, 2018
    • First Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering returning Friday, April 20 at 3
    Saturday - April 21, 2018
    • ACDS hosting a workshop for geography teachers
    Monday - April 23, 2018
    • No after-school help this Monday
    • Play week, ERB testing in the mornings
    Tuesday - April 24, 2018
    • Seventh Grade parent + student meeting re Peru World Leadership School 10:15 AM to 11:00 AMMiddle School Atrium
    • Poem in Your Pocket assembly 10:45 AMEdlis Neeson Hall
    Friday - April 27, 2018
    • All-School Play, Lost in Time 6:00 PMWheeler Opera House

      Tickets only via the Wheeler Opera House box office or aspenshowtix.com. On sale April 10 at noon

    Saturday - April 28, 2018
    • All-School Play, Lost in Time 5:00 PMWheeler Opera House

      Tickets only via Wheeler Opera House box office or aspenshowtix.com, on sale April 10 at noon

    Monday - April 30, 2018
    • Grandparents & Special Friends Day
    • Sixth Grade Outdoor Ed, canoe/kayak returns Friday, May 4
  • Thursday - May 3, 2018
    • Fourth Grade Science trip Denver: zoo
    Friday - May 4, 2018
    • Fourth Grade Science trip Denver: zoo (returns 3 pm)
    Saturday - May 5, 2018
    • National History Day state finals in Denver
    Monday - May 7, 2018
    • Moveup Meetup: for Kindergarten next year 2:15 pm
    Tuesday - May 8, 2018
    • Staying safe online: Parent meeting with Lee Damuth, 2 pm, Middle School Atrium
    • Third Grade space project presentations, 8 am, Lower School Commons
    Wednesday - May 9, 2018
    • Moveup Meetup: going into FIRST Grade next year 8:15 am, Lower School Commons
    • PreK Read to Me Day
    Thursday - May 10, 2018
    • Kindergarten Outdoor Ed, bouldering
    • Moveup Meetup: about FIFTH Grade next year 2:15 pm, Dining Hall
    Friday - May 11, 2018
    • Fifth Grade, Brett's class, Profiles in History Presentations 8:30 am, Goldsmith Hall
    • Moveup Meetup: about FOURTH Grade next year 2:15 pm, Dining Hall
    • PreK Field Trip: farm park
    Monday - May 14, 2018
    • Fifth Grade day with Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers
    • Moveup Meetup: about SIXTH Grade next year 2:30 pm, Middle School Atrium
    Tuesday - May 15, 2018
    • Fifth Grade, Adam's class, Profiles in History Presentations 8:30 am, Goldsmith Hall
    • First Grade French play 1:30 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Moveup Meetup: about PreKindergarten next year 8:15 am, Lower School Commons
    • Moveup Meetup: about SECOND Grade next year 2:15 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Third Grade Playwrights' Festival, 2:25 pm, Pond Studio
    Wednesday - May 16, 2018
    • PreK Four play: Goldilocks 10:15 am, Lower School Commons
    Thursday - May 17, 2018
    • Fourth Grade Geometry Demos 1-3 pm
    • Kindergarten World Language Fair 10:15 am, Lower School Commons
    • Moveup Meetup: about THIRD Grade next year 2:15 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Second Grade Endangered Species presentation 1:30 pm, Lower School Commons
    Friday - May 18, 2018
    • Blue Green Championship Games 2 pm
    Saturday - May 19, 2018
    • Eighth Grade Outdoor Ed river trip departs
    Monday - May 21, 2018
    • Moveup for FIFTH Grade students going to Middle School 12:45 pm CHANGED: Clarifying: this event is for students, not parents. Children will meet the teachers and get more familiar with the Middle School layout, classes, and routines.
    Tuesday - May 22, 2018
    • Bike to School Day
    • Fifth Grade field trip
    • Kids First Parade with PreK: downtown 10 am
    • MOVEUP Meetup: about SEVENTH Grade next year 2:30 pm, Middle School Atrium
    • Second Grade French plays, group 1, 12:15 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Third Grade French play, 12:45 pm, Lower School Commons
    Wednesday - May 23, 2018
    • Second Grade French Plays, group 2, 12:05 pm, Lower School Commons
    Thursday - May 24, 2018
    • Fourth Grade Denver zoo & museum overnight
    • Moveup Meetup: going into EIGHTH Grade next year 2:30 pm, Middle School Atrium
    Friday - May 25, 2018
    • Eighth Grade Outdoor Ed river trip returns
    • Fifth Grade field trip: restaurant project
    • Third Grade living history presentation: Day of the Living Dead 8:30 am, Commons
    Monday - May 28, 2018
    • Memorial Day, no school
    Tuesday - May 29, 2018
    • Eighth Grade student-led conferences
    • Second Grade Country Fair 2:15 pm, classroom
    Wednesday - May 30, 2018
    • Middle School Entrance Ceremony for Fifth Graders
    • Service day for Eighth Graders
    Thursday - May 31, 2018
    • Regatta Day & Final Assembly, dismissal at noon
      • 10:30 am: parents invited for coffee & snacks; Regatta & games by the ponds
      • 11:15 am: final all-school assembly & awards
      • noon: school ends for the year
  • Friday - June 1, 2018
    • Graduation 9:30 AM
    Sunday - June 3, 2018
    • World Leadership School Peru program departs 6:30 AMAspen to Cusco flights
    Thursday - June 14, 2018
    • World Leadership School Peru program returns 3:20 PMCusco to Aspen flights
  • Friday - July 6, 2018
    • Community Hike: Sundeck via Ute CANCELLED 9:00 AMmeet at base of Ute Trail
    Tuesday - July 17, 2018
    • Community Hike: Smuggler 8:00 AMmeet at the upper parking lot
  • Tuesday - August 7, 2018
    • Community Hike: SmugglerSignup for an alert reminder. 8:00 AMmeet at upper parking lot
    Monday - August 27, 2018
    • Faculty professional meetings weekSignup for an alert reminder.
    Thursday - August 30, 2018
    • New Family Welcome DinnerSignup for an alert reminder. for families brand new to ACDS
    Friday - August 31, 2018
    • New Family Orientation & Middle School Advisory GatheringsSignup for an alert reminder.
  • Tuesday - September 4, 2018
    • First day of school (half day for PreK & K Tues & Wed)Signup for an alert reminder.
    Wednesday - September 5, 2018
    • Outdoor Ed for Middle School, backpacking trips, returning FridaySignup for an alert reminder.
    Sunday - September 9, 2018
    • Jewish holidays, homework & evening events policy in effect Sun-TuesSignup for an alert reminder.
    Wednesday - September 12, 2018
    • Meeting of the Board of TrusteesSignup for an alert reminder.
    • Parent Night for Lower SchoolSignup for an alert reminder.
    Friday - September 14, 2018
    • Community Experience: Crested Butte hikeSignup for an alert reminder.
    • Second Grade Outdoor Ed, peak climb, returning FridaySignup for an alert reminder.
    Saturday - September 15, 2018
    • Playdate by the Ponds: on campus festival, 10 am-1 pmSignup for an alert reminder.
    Monday - September 17, 2018
    • Aspen Country Day Cup: benefit golf tournamentSignup for an alert reminder.
    Tuesday - September 18, 2018
    • Jewish holidays, homework & evening events policy in effect Tues & WedSignup for an alert reminder.
    Thursday - September 20, 2018
    • First Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering, returning FridaySignup for an alert reminder.
    • Parent Night for Middle SchoolSignup for an alert reminder.
    Friday - September 21, 2018
    • PreK & K parent coffee + conversationSignup for an alert reminder. 8:00 AMLower School Commons
    Monday - September 24, 2018
    • First & Second Grade parent coffee + conversationSignup for an alert reminder. 8:00 AMLower School Commons
    Wednesday - September 26, 2018
    • Blue Green Fall GamesSignup for an alert reminder.
    • Sixth Grade parent coffee + conversationSignup for an alert reminder. 8:15 AMDining Hall
    Thursday - September 27, 2018
    • Kindergarten Outdoor Ed, hikingSignup for an alert reminder.
    Sunday - September 30, 2018
    • Eighth Grade Washington, DC trip, returning FridaySignup for an alert reminder.
  • Monday - October 1, 2018
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing, first homeroom, returning TuesdaySignup for an alert reminder.
    Thursday - October 4, 2018
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing, second homeroom, returing FridaySignup for an alert reminder.
    Monday - October 8, 2018
    • Third & Fourth Grade parent coffee + conversationSignup for an alert reminder. 8:00 AMLower School Commons
    Wednesday - October 10, 2018
    • Meeting of the Board of TrusteesSignup for an alert reminder.
    Thursday - October 11, 2018
    • Community Experience, Dancing Bear eventSignup for an alert reminder.
    • Fifth Grade parent coffee + conversationSignup for an alert reminder. 8:00 AMDining Hall
    Saturday - October 13, 2018
    • Boarding School Fair at ACDSSignup for an alert reminder.
    Wednesday - October 17, 2018
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, mountain biking, returning FridaySignup for an alert reminder.
    • Eighth Grade parent coffee + conversationSignup for an alert reminder. 8:15 AMDining Hall
    Friday - October 19, 2018
    • Cotillion for Fifth, Sixth, Seventh Graders (also 11/2, 11/9)Signup for an alert reminder.
    Tuesday - October 23, 2018
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, mountain biking, returning ThursdaySignup for an alert reminder.
    Wednesday - October 24, 2018
    • Seventh Grade parent coffee + conversationSignup for an alert reminder. 8:15 AMDining Hall
    Thursday - October 25, 2018
    • Kids First teacher professional day; no school for PreKSignup for an alert reminder.
    Friday - October 26, 2018
    • Fall break, no school Signup for an alert reminder.
  • Thursday - November 1, 2018
    • Parent-Teacher ConferencesSignup for an alert reminder.
    Friday - November 2, 2018
    • Cotillion for Fifth, Sixth, Seventh Graders (also 10/19, 11/9)Signup for an alert reminder.
    Thursday - November 8, 2018
    • Parent book club: iGen by Dr. Jean TwengeSignup for an alert reminder. 5:30 PMLimelight Hotel
    Friday - November 9, 2018
    • Cotillion for Fifth, Sixth, Seventh Graders (also 10/19, 11/2)Signup for an alert reminder.
    Monday - November 19, 2018
    • Thanksgiving break, one weekSignup for an alert reminder.
    Monday - November 26, 2018
    • School resumes after Thanksgiving breakSignup for an alert reminder.
    Wednesday - November 28, 2018
    • Meeting of the Board of TrusteesSignup for an alert reminder.
  • Friday - December 21, 2018
    • Holiday SingSignup for an alert reminder.
    Monday - December 24, 2018
    • Winter break, week one of twoSignup for an alert reminder.
    Monday - December 31, 2018
    • Winter break, week two of twoSignup for an alert reminder.
Aspen Country Day School
85 Country Day Way Aspen, Colorado 81611
Phone: 970.925.1909
Time to consider ACDS

Our PreK to Eighth Grade school in the mountains of Colorado

The Way School Should Be

With a balance of nurture and rigor, children become their best

The Power of Three

Rigorous academics, creative arts, outdoor education

A welcoming community

Our motto, de amicitia: in the spirit of friendship

Out into the wide world

Alums carry the Aardvark spirit far and wide

A culture of generosity

Many ways to help make Country Day's future even brighter

email page print page small type default type large type
powered by finalsite