Calendar

Click the blue "Alerts" button below to sign up for notification of any or all events. For the complete 2018-19 calendar on one sheet, click here (pdf).

Calendar Navigation
<  Year of 2018  >
  • Tuesday, Jan 2
    • Classes resume (Tuesday)
    Thursday, Jan 4
    • Seventh Grade hut trip skinning practice 12:00 PM to 3:00 PMon mountain
    Friday, Jan 5
    • Blue Green Winter Games
    Tuesday, Jan 9
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 1 returning Friday, January 12 at 3
    Wednesday, Jan 10
    Friday, Jan 12
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Monday, Jan 15
    • MLK Day, all-school day of service, school in session
    Tuesday, Jan 16
    • Seventh Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, group 2 returning Friday, January 19 at 3
    Thursday, Jan 18
    • PreKindergarten Classroom Visit Day 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM

      RSVP here

    Friday, Jan 19
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Tuesday, Jan 23
    • Open Book Night: "How to Raise an Adult" 6:00 PMBookbinders bookstore, Willits
    Wednesday, Jan 24
    • Wednesday Welcome: Open Campus Tour 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMCastle Creek Campus

      come see the ACDS campus & program! RSVP here

    Friday, Jan 26
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Tuesday, Jan 30
    • Fourth Grade hut trip skinning practice 9:00 AM to 1:45 PM
    • Geography Bee 2:15 PM to 3:00 PMEdlis-Neeson Hall

      Everyone invited! For Fourth-Eighth Grade finalists

    Wednesday, Jan 31
    • Wednesday Welcome: Open Campus Tour 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMCastle Creek Campus

      come see the ACDS campus & program! RSVP here

  • Friday, Feb 2
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Monday, Feb 5
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Annie's homeroom

      returning Wednesday, February 7 in time for early day pickup at 2 pm

    • Parent Coffee: Smartphones for kids: for better or for worse? 8:00 AM to 9:15 AMDining Hall
    Tuesday, Feb 6
    • Aspen Words Poetry Project
    Wednesday, Feb 7
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Clark's homeroom

      returning Friday, February 9 at 3

    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • Wednesday Welcome: Open Campus Tour 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMCastle Creek Campus

      come see the ACDS campus & program! RSVP here

    Thursday, Feb 8
    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    Friday, Feb 9
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    • Fifth Grade field trip: "I am Financial Knowledge 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM
    Monday, Feb 12
    • Monday, February 12, 2018 was a snow day.
    Tuesday, Feb 13
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    • Seventh Grade parent coffee: "Raising Middle Schoolers" 8:00 AM to 9:00 AMDining Hall
    Wednesday, Feb 14
    • Fifth Grade hut trip skinning practice
    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • Fourth Grade, Valentine project, senior center 12:15 PM to 1:15 PMlunchtime field trip
    Thursday, Feb 15
    • Thursday, February 15, 2018 was a snow day.
    Friday, Feb 16
    • 100th day of school celebrations Lower School
    • Applying for Sept 2018? Priority deadline today
    • Sixth Grade day with Challenge Aspen Buttermilk
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Monday, Feb 19
    • Presidents Day, no school
    Tuesday, Feb 20
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    Wednesday, Feb 21
    • no PreK skiing
    • Parent meetings for next year's 9th grades at Aspen High & Basalt High 5:30 PM to 7:00 PMAspen High Seminar Room

      http://conta.cc/2GywFr1

    Thursday, Feb 22
    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    • Parent Coffee: Help! Homework! hands off or hover? 8:00 AM to 9:15 AMDining Hall

      Open to all; recommended for First-Second Grade parents

    Friday, Feb 23
    • Geology field trip: Fourth Grade
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    • Kindergarten Classroom Visit Day 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM

      For families interested in Kindergarten for fall 2018. Sign up here

    Tuesday, Feb 27
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    • Parent Coffee: The Single Most Important Thing: reading aloud 8:00 AM to 9:15 AM

      open to all; recommended for PreK-Kindergarten parents.

    Wednesday, Feb 28
    • Fifth Grade skinning practice
    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
  • Thursday, Mar 1
    • Eighth Graders: AHS registration

      http://conta.cc/2GgCfOx

    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    Friday, Mar 2
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    • Sixth Grade Parent Coffee: "Middle School - how's it going?" 8:00 AM to 9:00 AMDining Hall

      For Sixth Grade parents, checking in on the transition to Middle School with Head of Middle School Brenda Stockdale

    Monday, Mar 5
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Adam's homeroom

      returning Wednesday, March 7 at 2

    Tuesday, Mar 6
    • Ski for PE: Kindergarten to Second Grade
    Wednesday, Mar 7
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, ski touring, Brett's homeroom returning Friday, March 9 at 3
    • PreK ski morning 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • Fourth Grade presentations on Ancient Egypt: Annie's class 10:00 AM to 11:00 AMLower School Commons
    Thursday, Mar 8
    • Ski for PE: Third to Fifth Grades
    • Fourth Grade presentations on Ancient Egypt: Clark's class 10:00 AM to 11:00 AMLower School Commons
    Friday, Mar 9
    • Ski for PE: Middle School
    Wednesday, Mar 14
    • Parent-Teacher Conferences all day, no school for students
    Thursday, Mar 15
    • First Grade Animal Research Projects 8:30 AM to 9:30 AMLower School Commons
    • Second Grade Economics Fair 2:15 PM to 3:00 PMLower School Commons
    Friday, Mar 16
    • All-School Ski Afternoon
    Monday, Mar 19
    • Spring break, week 1 of 2
    Monday, Mar 26
    • Spring break, week 2 of 2
  • Monday, Apr 2
    • Classes resume after spring break
    Wednesday, Apr 4
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing returning Friday, April 6 at 3
    Saturday, Apr 7
    Monday, Apr 9
    • World of Big & Small Math Projects presentation 2:30 PM to 3:00 PM
    Tuesday, Apr 10
    • All-School Play tickets go on sale at the Wheeler
    Wednesday, Apr 11
    • Second Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering returning Friday, April 13 at 3
    Thursday, Apr 12
    • Drop Everything And Read Day

      national event in honor of author Beverly Cleary's birthday

    Wednesday, Apr 18
    • First Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering returning Friday, April 20 at 3
    Saturday, Apr 21
    • ACDS hosting a workshop for geography teachers
    Monday, Apr 23
    • No after-school help this Monday
    • Play week, ERB testing in the mornings
    Tuesday, Apr 24
    • Seventh Grade parent + student meeting re Peru World Leadership School 10:15 AM to 11:00 AMMiddle School Atrium
    • Poem in Your Pocket assembly 10:45 AMEdlis Neeson Hall
    Friday, Apr 27
    • All-School Play, Lost in Time 6:00 PMWheeler Opera House

      Tickets only via the Wheeler Opera House box office or aspenshowtix.com. On sale April 10 at noon

    Saturday, Apr 28
    • All-School Play, Lost in Time 5:00 PMWheeler Opera House

      Tickets only via Wheeler Opera House box office or aspenshowtix.com, on sale April 10 at noon

    Monday, Apr 30
    • Grandparents & Special Friends Day
    • Sixth Grade Outdoor Ed, canoe/kayak returns Friday, May 4
  • Thursday, May 3
    • Fourth Grade Science trip Denver: zoo
    Friday, May 4
    • Fourth Grade Science trip Denver: zoo (returns 3 pm)
    Saturday, May 5
    • National History Day state finals in Denver
    Monday, May 7
    • Moveup Meetup: for Kindergarten next year 2:15 pm
    Tuesday, May 8
    • Staying safe online: Parent meeting with Lee Damuth, 2 pm, Middle School Atrium
    • Third Grade space project presentations, 8 am, Lower School Commons
    Wednesday, May 9
    • Moveup Meetup: going into FIRST Grade next year 8:15 am, Lower School Commons
    • PreK Read to Me Day
    Thursday, May 10
    • Kindergarten Outdoor Ed, bouldering
    • Moveup Meetup: about FIFTH Grade next year 2:15 pm, Dining Hall
    Friday, May 11
    • Fifth Grade, Brett's class, Profiles in History Presentations 8:30 am, Goldsmith Hall
    • Moveup Meetup: about FOURTH Grade next year 2:15 pm, Dining Hall
    • PreK Field Trip: farm park
    Monday, May 14
    • Fifth Grade day with Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers
    • Moveup Meetup: about SIXTH Grade next year 2:30 pm, Middle School Atrium
    Tuesday, May 15
    • Fifth Grade, Adam's class, Profiles in History Presentations 8:30 am, Goldsmith Hall
    • First Grade French play 1:30 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Moveup Meetup: about PreKindergarten next year 8:15 am, Lower School Commons
    • Moveup Meetup: about SECOND Grade next year 2:15 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Third Grade Playwrights' Festival, 2:25 pm, Pond Studio
    Wednesday, May 16
    • PreK Four play: Goldilocks 10:15 am, Lower School Commons
    Thursday, May 17
    • Fourth Grade Geometry Demos 1-3 pm
    • Kindergarten World Language Fair 10:15 am, Lower School Commons
    • Moveup Meetup: about THIRD Grade next year 2:15 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Second Grade Endangered Species presentation 1:30 pm, Lower School Commons
    Friday, May 18
    • Blue Green Championship Games 2 pm
    Saturday, May 19
    • Eighth Grade Outdoor Ed river trip departs
    Monday, May 21
    • Moveup for FIFTH Grade students going to Middle School 12:45 pm CHANGED: Clarifying: this event is for students, not parents. Children will meet the teachers and get more familiar with the Middle School layout, classes, and routines.
    Tuesday, May 22
    • Bike to School Day
    • Fifth Grade field trip
    • Kids First Parade with PreK: downtown 10 am
    • MOVEUP Meetup: about SEVENTH Grade next year 2:30 pm, Middle School Atrium
    • Second Grade French plays, group 1, 12:15 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Third Grade French play, 12:45 pm, Lower School Commons
    Wednesday, May 23
    • Second Grade French Plays, group 2, 12:05 pm, Lower School Commons
    Thursday, May 24
    • Fourth Grade Denver zoo & museum overnight
    • Moveup Meetup: going into EIGHTH Grade next year 2:30 pm, Middle School Atrium
    Friday, May 25
    • Eighth Grade Outdoor Ed river trip returns
    • Fifth Grade field trip: restaurant project
    • Third Grade living history presentation: Day of the Living Dead 8:30 am, Commons
    Monday, May 28
    • Memorial Day, no school
    Tuesday, May 29
    • Eighth Grade student-led conferences
    • Second Grade Country Fair 2:15 pm, classroom
    Wednesday, May 30
    • Middle School Entrance Ceremony for Fifth Graders
    • Service day for Eighth Graders
    Thursday, May 31
    • Regatta Day & Final Assembly, dismissal at noon
      • 10:30 am: parents invited for coffee & snacks; Regatta & games by the ponds
      • 11:15 am: final all-school assembly & awards
      • noon: school ends for the year
  • Friday, Jun 1
    • Graduation 9:30 AM
    Sunday, Jun 3
    • World Leadership School Peru program departs 6:30 AMAspen to Cusco flights
    Thursday, Jun 14
    • World Leadership School Peru program returns 3:20 PMCusco to Aspen flights
  • Friday, Jul 6
    • Community Hike: Sundeck via Ute CANCELLED 9:00 AMmeet at base of Ute Trail
    Tuesday, Jul 17
    • Community Hike: Smuggler 8:00 AMmeet at the upper parking lot
  • Tuesday, Aug 7
    • Community Hike: Smuggler now 9:30 am CHANGED: This event has been changed. 9:30 AMmeet at upper parking lot
    Monday, Aug 27
    • Faculty professional meetings week
    Thursday, Aug 30
    • New Family Welcome Dinner for families brand new to ACDS
    Friday, Aug 31
    • New Family Orientation & Middle School Advisory Gatherings
  • Tuesday, Sep 4
    • First day of school (half day for PreK & K Tues & Wed)
    Wednesday, Sep 5
    • Outdoor Ed for Middle School, backpacking trips, returning Friday
    Sunday, Sep 9
    • Jewish holidays, homework & evening events policy in effect Sun-Tues
    Tuesday, Sep 11
    • Picture Day: Third-Fifth Grades
    Wednesday, Sep 12
    • Meeting of the Board of Trustees
    • Parent Night for Lower School
    • Picture Day: PreK-Second Grades
    Thursday, Sep 13
    • Picture Day: Middle School
    • Second Grade Outdoor Ed, peak climb, returning Friday
    Friday, Sep 14
    • Community Experience: Crested Butte hike
    • Third Grade history trip returning 6 pm 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM
    Saturday, Sep 15
    • Playdate by the Ponds: on campus festival, 10 am-1 pm
    Monday, Sep 17
    • Aspen Country Day Cup: benefit golf tournament
    Tuesday, Sep 18
    • Jewish holidays, homework & evening events policy in effect Tues & Wed
    • Seventh Grade Parents' meeting on Peru program, 2:15 pm Middle School Atrium
    Thursday, Sep 20
    • First Grade Outdoor Ed, bouldering, returning Friday
    • Parent Night for Middle School, 5-7 pm, start in Edlis-Neeson Hall
    Friday, Sep 21
    Monday, Sep 24
    • Eighth Grade parent meeting re: DC & high school, 2 pm, Atrium
    • First & Second Grade parent coffee + conversation, 8 am, Lower School Commons
    Tuesday, Sep 25
    • Castle Creek trail public hearing, 11 am, Pitkin County BOCC
    • Picture Day: class photos & makeups
    Wednesday, Sep 26
    • Blue Green Fall Games
    • Sixth Grade parent coffee + conversation, 8:15 am, Dining Hall
    Thursday, Sep 27
    • Kindergarten Outdoor Ed Day, returning 6 pm
    Sunday, Sep 30
    • Eighth Grade Washington, DC trip, Sept 30-Oct 5
  • Monday, Oct 1
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing, Mary Frances's class, returning Tuesday
    Thursday, Oct 4
    • Third Grade Outdoor Ed, climbing, Paige's class, returning Friday
    Friday, Oct 5
    • Eighth Grade Washington, DC trip returns
    Monday, Oct 8
    • Third & Fourth Grade parent coffee + conversation 8 am, Lower School Commons
    Tuesday, Oct 9
    • Fifth Grade parent coffee + conversation 8 am (note new date), Lower School Commons
    Wednesday, Oct 10
    • Meeting of the Board of Trustees
    • Third Grade history field trip
    Friday, Oct 12
    • Revolution Prep presentation 2 pm Dining Hall
    Saturday, Oct 13
    • Boarding School Fair at ACDS 1-3 pm
    Tuesday, Oct 16
    • Tech Check-in for Middle School Parents, 2 pm

      info here

    Wednesday, Oct 17
    • Fourth Grade Outdoor Ed, mountain biking, returning Friday
    Thursday, Oct 18
    • Fifth Grade science geomorphology field trip
    Friday, Oct 19
    • Cotillion for Fifth, Sixth, Seventh Graders (also 11/2, 11/9), 5-7 pm
    Tuesday, Oct 23
    • Fifth Grade Outdoor Ed, mountain biking, returning Thursday
    Wednesday, Oct 24
    • Seventh Grade parent coffee + conversation, 8:15 am Dining Hall
    Thursday, Oct 25
    • Kids First teacher professional day; no school for PreK
    Friday, Oct 26
    • Fall break, no school
    Tuesday, Oct 30
    • Workshop: scenes & songs from The Lion King Edlis-Neeson

      8-9 am open coffee & art exhibits in the Dining Hall
      9:05 am showtime in Edlis-Neeson

    Wednesday, Oct 31
    • Halloween Parade 1 pm
  • Thursday, Nov 1
    • Parent-Teacher Conferences, no school for students
    Friday, Nov 2
    • Cotillion for Fifth, Sixth, Seventh Graders, 5-7 pm (also 10/19, 11/9)
    • Spanish Circus
    Wednesday, Nov 7
    • Fourth Grade Science Research Project Presentations, Annie's class, 1 pm, Lower School Commons
    Thursday, Nov 8
    • Fourth Grade Science Research Project Presentations, José's class, 2:10 pm, Lower School Commons
    • Parent book club: iGen by Dr. Jean Twenge. 5:30 pm. Location, Scanlan House, home of Josh & Rachel Wolman
    Friday, Nov 9
    • Cotillion for Fifth, Sixth, Seventh Graders 5-7 pm (also 10/19, 11/2)
    • Mountaineer Mike Marolt: Middle School assembly, 8 am
    Wednesday, Nov 14
    • Annual Fund Reception, 5:30 pm
    Friday, Nov 16
    • Service Learning Activities Day
    Monday, Nov 19
    • Thanksgiving break, one week
    Monday, Nov 26
    • School resumes after Thanksgiving break
    Wednesday, Nov 28
    • Meeting of the Board of Trustees
  • Wednesday, Dec 5
    • Shakespeare Festival Day 1

      9 am The Tempest, Amanda's First Grade, Pond Studio
      11 am Macbeth, Kindergarten & Romeo and Juliet, Jose's Fourth Grade, Edlis-Neeson
      12:45 pm The Tempest, Cathy's First Grade, Pond Studio

    Thursday, Dec 6
    • Shakespeare Festival Day 2

      9 am Hamlet, Mary Frances's Third Grade, Pond Studio
      11 am Romeo and Juliet, Annie's Fourth Grade, Edlis-Neeson
      12:45 pm Hamlet, Paige's Third Grade, Pond Studio
      2:30 pm Julius Caesar, Adam's Fifth Grade, Edlis-Neeson

    Friday, Dec 7
    • Kindergarten Open House, 8:30 am, for interested families for September 2019
    • Shakespeare Festival Day 3

      9 am A Midsummer Night's Dream, Trish's Second Grade, Edlis-Neeson
      12:45 pm A Midsummer Night's Dream, Alexandra's Second Grade, Edlis-Neeson
      2:30 pm Julius Caesar, Brett's Fifth Grade, Edlis-Neeson
       

    Monday, Dec 10
    • No After-School homework help this day, faculty meeting
    Tuesday, Dec 11
    • Parent Coffee with Dr. Kimberly Schonert-Reichl about Social Emotional Learning, 8 am, Middle School Atrium
    Wednesday, Dec 12
    • Middle School after-school homework & study help session 2:00 PM to 2:45 PM
    Thursday, Dec 13
    • Info session for Seventh Grade: Aspen Sister Cities 6:15 pm at AHS
    Friday, Dec 14
    • Middle School exam period begins: 1 per day through 12/20

      8:25-10 am: Sixth, English; Seventh, English; Eighth, World Language

    • Music with Miss Kim, for visiting parents and children, 10-11 am, Goldsmith Hall
    Monday, Dec 17
    Mostly Cloudy Mostly Cloudy
    40°/22° - 20% Precip
    • Middle School exams

      8:25-10 am: Sixth, Science; Seventh, History; Eighth, English

    Tuesday, Dec 18
    Partly Cloudy Partly Cloudy
    36°/23° - 10% Precip
    • Middle School examsSignup for an alert reminder.

      8:25-10 am: Sixth, Math; Seventh, World Language; Eighth, Science

    Wednesday, Dec 19
    Snow Showers Snow Showers
    31°/16° - 50% Precip
    • Middle School examsSignup for an alert reminder.

      8:15-9:50 am: Sixth, History; Seventh, Math; Eighth, History

    Thursday, Dec 20
    Clear Clear
    38°/19° - 10% Precip
    • Middle School examsSignup for an alert reminder.

      8:25-10 am: Sixth, World Language; Seventh, Science; Eighth, Math

    Friday, Dec 21
    Mostly Cloudy Mostly Cloudy
    41°/19° - 20% Precip
    • Holiday Sing: 8:30 am dropoff, 9 am showtimeSignup for an alert reminder.

      8:30 am parent dropoff at the Aspen Meadows
      9 am showtime
      program concludes by 10:15 am
      school resumes January 7

    Monday, Dec 24
    • Winter break, week one of twoSignup for an alert reminder.
    Monday, Dec 31
    • Winter break, week two of twoSignup for an alert reminder.
Aspen Country Day School
85 Country Day Way Aspen, Colorado 81611
Phone: 970.925.1909
Time to consider ACDS

Our PreK to Eighth Grade school in the mountains of Colorado

The Way School Should Be

With a balance of nurture and rigor, children become their best

The Power of Three

Rigorous academics, creative arts, outdoor education

A welcoming community

Our motto, de amicitia: in the spirit of friendship

Out into the wide world

Alums carry the Aardvark spirit far and wide

A culture of generosity

Many ways to help make Country Day's future even brighter

email page print page small type default type large type
powered by finalsite